Comparison

The best AI for Roblox Studio, honestly compared

There is no single best one. Start with Roblox Assistant: it is built into Studio, needs no setup and can use your own API key. Move to an MCP client or a third-party Studio agent when you want a different workflow, price or feature set. From a blank page, a browser generator gets you a playable draft without installing anything, and for understanding code a chatbot in a tab is enough.

At a glance

Roblox AI tools side by side

Feature lists are not what separates these tools. Where they run is: inside the place you have open, in a browser, or in a chat tab. Checked against each maker's own docs or site on 30 September 2026.

Categories, not a scoreboard. Each is genuinely better at its own job. Prices are shown in the currency each maker lists.
Option Works in your open place Setup Free option Notable limits
Roblox Assistant
(built in)
Yes. Edits scripts and objects, runs Luau, playtests, inserts Creator Store assets, generates meshes. None. Click Assistant in Studio. Comes with Studio, and its docs list no price. The one cap its docs state: 50 procedural models per rolling 24 hours.
Studio MCP server
with your AI client
Yes. Edits scripts, runs Luau, starts playtests, simulates input. Turn on Studio's MCP server, then connect Claude Code, Cursor or Codex CLI. The server comes with Studio. The client has its own price. You install and connect the client yourself. It can run code in your session.
RoCode
(Studio agent)
Yes. Creates and edits scripts and instances, compile-checks its scripts. Free account, Creator Store plugin, 8-character pairing code, desktop browser. Starter: 3 credits a day, no card. Paid from $9.99 a month. Edit mode only: no playtests, screenshots, meshes or terrain.
Ropilot
(Studio agent)
Yes, via its desktop app and plugin. Playtests, simulates input, takes screenshots. Install Ropilot Studio (Windows, macOS, Linux). It adds the plugin. Starter credits, or 500 actions a month on your own ChatGPT or Claude plan. Needs its desktop app. Plus is $20 a month, credit packs from $8.
Forge
(Studio agent)
Yes, via a Windows Bridge and Studio's MCP server. Playtests, shows a screenshot. Sign in with Roblox, then install and pair the Bridge. Trial credits on first pairing, for Roblox accounts over 30 days old. Windows only for now. Prepaid credits from $10, no subscription.
Lemonade
(Roblox agent)
Not stated on its public pages. Its terms call it a middle layer between Studio and its own service. Sign in with Roblox, then start from a prompt on its site. Not stated. Its public pages show no prices. Its terms: a monthly paid tier with higher prompt limits, no refunds.
RoAI
(roai.studio)
Yes, by its description: you prompt in its web Live Game Editor, approve a plan with a credit estimate, and its plugin applies the edits. Create an account, link Roblox, then install its Creator Store plugin and link it. Chat and plan previews are free. Building needs bought credits (the Free plan has 0 a month). Priced in pounds, from £12 a month for 100 credits. Light, Standard and Deep runs cost about 20, 70 and 300 credits.
SuperbulletAI
(desktop app)
Through its desktop app, which keeps a Rojo project on disk and syncs it into Studio. Existing places come in through an import feature. Install the app (Windows or macOS), then connect Rojo and its Studio plugin. 1M tokens a month, up to 150K a day. Pro is $20 a month for 11M tokens. Its terms say all purchases are final and non-refundable.
Browser generator
(for example Obby)
No. Builds a new game you export to Studio as a .rbxlx file. None. Runs in the browser. Obby has a free tier. A poor fit for a place you have already built.
Chatbot in a tab
(ChatGPT, Claude, Copilot)
No. It sees only what you paste. None. Claude and GitHub Copilot list free plans. It guesses your object names, and you place every script.

Inside Studio

Tools that edit the place you have open

These work on your actual project. They can read your hierarchy, find the script you already wrote, and make a targeted change to it. If you have a game in progress, this is the shape you want, because the hard part is not writing Luau in the abstract, it is writing Luau that fits what you already have.

Roblox Assistant is Roblox's own, built into Studio, with nothing to install. It creates and edits scripts and objects, inserts Creator Store assets, and generates meshes, materials and procedural models. Roblox's docs also say it can run Luau, simulate input and playtest your game, and they describe a Planning Mode that shows its steps before it builds, a screen capture subagent that looks at the viewport in Edit and Play mode, and support for your own Anthropic, OpenAI or Google Gemini API key. It comes with Studio and its docs list no price, so it is the sensible first thing to try.

RoCode is a third-party agent. You describe a change in a web chat, and a free plugin from the Creator Store carries it out in your open place with 24 Studio tools that read, create, edit and check. It compile-checks the scripts it writes inside Studio before it finishes, and each batch of changes is an undo point in Studio's own history, so undoing a longer run takes several presses of Ctrl+Z. It does not start playtests.

Ropilot is the closest thing to a direct alternative, and it has things RoCode does not. Its desktop app, Ropilot Studio, installs a Studio plugin. It can run a playtest, simulate input and capture what the player sees, and it makes 3D models and animations in Blender, which the app installs and drives. The app runs on Windows, macOS and Linux, and new accounts get free starter credits.

Forge takes another route. A small Windows app, the Bridge, connects your open place to Forge's service through Studio's built-in MCP server. It playtests its own work and shows you a screenshot, lets you pick the model with the price shown before you send, and sells prepaid credits instead of a subscription. It needs a Windows PC for now.

The practical differences come down to three things. Playtests: Assistant, Ropilot, Forge and MCP clients can start one, while RoCode reads the Output of playtests you run. Platforms: Forge needs Windows, Ropilot's app runs on Windows, macOS and Linux, and RoCode needs Roblox Studio on Windows or Mac plus a desktop browser. Cost: Assistant comes with Studio, Ropilot and Forge sell their own credits, and RoCode has a free daily allowance with monthly plans above it. Each tool counts credits in its own unit, so compare prices, not credit counts.

Browser generators

Tools that build a game from a prompt

These run in a browser, turn a description into a playable game, and then export it to Studio. Obby is one of them: it previews the game in the browser, exports a .rbxlx file you open in Studio, covers genres such as obbies, tycoons and pet simulators, and its counter shows more than 290,000 games created.

They are genuinely good at the blank page. If you are starting from nothing and want something playable to look at, they get you there without installing anything. The trade-off is the other direction: they generate a project rather than working inside yours, so they are a poor fit once you have a place you have already put real time into.

General chatbots

ChatGPT, Claude and Copilot

They write reasonable Luau, and they are good at explaining why something does not work.

In a browser tab the limitation is structural rather than a quality problem: they cannot see your place. They do not know your instance paths, your existing scripts or your naming conventions, so every answer arrives as a block of code you then have to translate into your project. That translation step is the actual work, and it is the step the in-Studio tools remove.

That changes if you connect a desktop AI client to Studio. Studio ships with a built-in MCP server, and Roblox lists quick connect for clients such as Claude Code, Claude Desktop, Codex CLI, Cursor and Gemini CLI. Connected, they can read your scripts and hierarchy, change the open place and start playtests. It takes some setup, which our Studio MCP guide walks through, and how to use AI in Roblox Studio compares every option.

If you use Assistant

Roblox Assistant alternatives

Assistant is the default for good reasons. Here is when to stay with it, and what to use when it is not enough.

What it is. Roblox's AI helper, built into Studio. It writes and edits scripts and objects in your data model, inserts Creator Store assets, generates meshes and procedural models, and can plan before it builds. Under Manage API Keys you can switch it to your own Anthropic, OpenAI or Google Gemini key.

Who should stay. Anyone it is working for. It comes with Studio, its docs list no price, it needs no install, it can playtest, and it already lets you change the model. Its docs state one cap, 50 procedural models per rolling 24 hours, and do not publish a message limit. If you hit a limit the docs do not describe, they offer no way to raise it, and the two routes below are the realistic ones. Assistant limits covers what the docs do and do not say.

Same Studio, a different AI client. In Assistant, open the … menu, choose Manage MCP Servers and turn on Enable Studio as MCP server, then connect Claude Code, Cursor, Codex CLI or another client. You get Roblox's own tools, including playtests and input simulation, driven by the client you choose, and you pay that client's maker. The Studio MCP guide has the steps.

A third-party Studio agent. RoCode, Ropilot and Forge all work in your open place with their own interface and pricing. RoCode runs from a web chat with a step-by-step log and a free daily allowance, and does not start playtests. Ropilot and Forge can. RoCode vs Roblox Assistant compares the two in detail.

If you use Ropilot

Ropilot alternatives

Ropilot covers a lot: playtests, Blender models and your own ChatGPT or Claude plan. The right alternative depends on which part you use.

What it is. A desktop app, Ropilot Studio, for Windows, macOS and Linux that installs a Studio plugin. It reads and edits your scripts, runs playtests with input simulation and screenshots, and makes 3D models and animations through Blender. You pay with Ropilot Credits (Plus is $20 a month, packs start at $8), or connect your own ChatGPT or Claude plan and pay for Ropilot Actions, with 500 a month free.

Who should stay. If you rely on its playtest loop, on Blender models and animations, or on putting a ChatGPT or Claude subscription you already pay for to work in Studio, Ropilot covers that directly. RoCode does none of those three.

Alternatives that also playtest. Roblox Assistant is built into Studio, and Roblox's docs say it can playtest and simulate input. Forge playtests and returns a screenshot, on Windows, with prepaid credits and no subscription. Or connect Claude Code or Codex CLI to Studio's own MCP server, which has playtest and input tools built in, and pay only for your AI client.

Alternatives if you do not need playtests. RoCode works from a web chat and a Creator Store plugin with no desktop app, has a free Starter plan of 3 credits a day, and paid plans from $9.99 a month. RoCode vs Ropilot goes through the differences.

If you use Lemonade

Lemonade alternatives

This section sticks to what Lemonade's own home page, terms and privacy policy say.

What it is. Lemonade describes itself as an agent for making games on Roblox. You sign in with your Roblox account and start from a prompt on its site, with suggestions such as a farm, pet or survival game. Its terms describe it as a middle layer between Roblox Studio and its own service, and say your project files live on Roblox.

Who should stay. If starting from a prompt on its site suits the games you make, there is no reason to move. Before you pay, note that its public pages show no prices, and its terms describe a monthly paid tier with higher prompt limits and payments that are final and non-refundable.

For a new game from a prompt. A browser generator such as Obby does that job with a free tier: it previews the game in the browser and exports a .rbxlx file you open in Studio.

For a place you already have. Roblox Assistant is built into Studio. RoCode, Ropilot and Forge all work in your open place and publish their prices: RoCode from $9.99 a month with a free daily allowance, Ropilot Plus at $20 a month, Forge credits from $10. RoCode refunds any payment in full if you ask within 14 days. RoCode vs Lemonade compares the two.

Choosing

Which one you actually want

Questions

Common questions

What is the best AI for Roblox scripting?

It depends on the job. To add features to a place you already have, use something that works inside Studio: Roblox Assistant first, because it is built in, then an MCP client or a third-party Studio agent if you want a different workflow or price. From a blank page, a browser generator gets you a playable draft without installing anything. A chatbot in a tab is good at explaining code but cannot see your project.

Can I just use ChatGPT or Claude for Roblox scripts?

Yes, and for explaining a concept or debugging a snippet you paste in they work well. In a browser tab they cannot see your place, so you do the translating. Connected to Studio's built-in MCP server, desktop clients such as Claude Code or Cursor can read and edit the open place, after some setup.

Do Roblox AI plugins work on an existing game?

Tools that work inside Studio do. Roblox Assistant, MCP clients and Studio agents such as RoCode, Ropilot and Forge read your hierarchy and edit the scripts already there. Browser generators usually build a new project and export it, which fits an existing place badly.

Is there a free AI plugin for Roblox Studio?

Roblox Assistant is built into Studio rather than a plugin, and its docs list no price. Among third-party tools, RoCode's Starter plan is free with 3 credits a day and all 24 Studio tools, no card needed, and Ropilot and Forge give trial credits. Every free tier is compared in free AI for Roblox Studio.

What is the best alternative to Roblox Assistant?

To stay with Roblox's own tooling, connect Claude Code, Cursor or Codex CLI to Studio's built-in MCP server, or add your own Anthropic, OpenAI or Google Gemini key to Assistant. For a separate agent, RoCode, Ropilot and Forge all work in your open place. Ropilot and Forge can run playtests, as Assistant can, and RoCode does not start them. Which fits best depends on your computer, your budget and whether you need playtests.

What are the alternatives to Ropilot and Lemonade?

Roblox Assistant is built into Studio and can playtest. Forge playtests too, on Windows, with prepaid credits. RoCode works in your open place from a web chat, with a free daily allowance, but does not start playtests. For a new game from a prompt, a browser generator such as Obby exports a place file you open in Studio.

Sources

Where these facts come from

Roblox and competitor facts were checked against their own docs and sites on 30 September 2026. If something has changed, tell us in the Discord (opens in a new tab) and we will correct it.

Roblox. Creator Docs: AI on Roblox, Assistant for Studio, Connect to the Roblox Studio MCP server and Studio setup.

Ropilot. Its home page, pricing page and download page.

Forge. Its home page and llms.txt.

RoAI. Its home page, pricing page and plugin page, read 9 October 2026.

SuperbulletAI. Its home page, downloads page, FAQ and terms of service, read 9 October 2026.

Lemonade. Its home page, terms of service and privacy policy.

Obby and chatbots. Obby's home page, Claude's pricing page and GitHub Copilot's plans page.

RoCode. RoCode's own site, plugin and relay code, rechecked in October 2026. Plans and limits are on the pricing page.

If you have a place you are already building

That is the case RoCode is built for. Free to start, no card needed.