Guide · AI in Roblox Studio

Free AI for Roblox Studio: what each tool gives you free (2026)

Roblox Studio comes with AI built in, and many third-party tools advertise a free plan. "Free" means something different on each: a daily allowance, a monthly one, trial credits that never come back, or a free tool that needs an AI you pay for. This page sets out what each tool's own pricing page or documentation said on 9 October 2026, with a link to check it yourself. RoCode publishes this page and is one row in the table.

Updated 9 October 202615 min readChecked 9 October 2026No code needed

In short

Yes, there is free AI for Roblox Studio. Assistant is built into Studio, and Roblox's documentation lists no price for it; the only usage cap it gives a number for is 50 procedural models per rolling 24 hours. Studio also has a built-in MCP server that lets an outside AI client work in your place, but that client's own plan sets the limits. Third-party free tiers range from daily allowances (RoCode 3 credits, JellyBuild 10 credits) and monthly ones (SuperbulletAI 1M tokens) to one-off trial credits and, for some tools, nothing at all.

  • Open Assistant with the Assistant button on the right side of the mezzanine bar at the top of Studio. There is nothing to install.
  • For the Studio MCP server, no free client plan we checked documents the connection. Claude Code is not on Claude's Free plan, Cursor lists MCP support on a paid plan, and OpenAI lists the Codex CLI from Plus.
  • "Free" often leaves out the stronger models, bigger builds, the priority queue and carry-over. On bring-your-own-AI plans the tool is free but the AI is not.
  • Writing Luau yourself costs nothing: Studio is free, and the guides on this site need no account.
On this page
  1. Free tiers compared
  2. Stretch a free tier
  3. What free leaves out
  4. Free with no catch
  5. RoCode
  6. Questions
  7. Sources

Free tiers compared, checked 9 October 2026

Every row comes from the tool's own pricing page, documentation or terms, read on 9 October 2026, and links to that page. "Not stated" means the tool's public pages do not say. Free tiers change often, so check the link before you rely on a number.

Built into Roblox Studio

Roblox's own AI features, and the Studio MCP server with a free client plan
Tool and sourceFree allowance and resetWhat the free tier coversCard needed
Assistant (Roblox)
Source: Assistant docs
No price and no message cap stated in the docs. The one numbered cap: 50 procedural models per rolling 24 hours, with no fixed reset time.Answers questions, explains code, creates and edits scripts and objects, inserts Creator Store assets, and generates materials, meshes and procedural models. Has a Planning Mode. No hard limit on chats per place. Default model not stated.Not stated in the docs
Code Assist (Script Editor)
Source: Script Editor docs
A daily cap on suggestions, number not stated. Once you reach it, no suggestions until the next day.Suggests lines or functions of code as you type.Not stated in the docs
Studio MCP server with Claude Desktop (Claude Free)
Source: Studio MCP docs, claude.com/pricing
Server: built in, no price stated. Claude Free: "Usage limits apply", no number published.Claude Desktop is a quick connect client, and Anthropic lists desktop extensions and connectors on Free. Neither company documents the Studio connection on Free. Claude Code is Pro and up. Free models: Sonnet and Haiku.No
Studio MCP server with Cursor (Hobby)
Source: cursor.com/pricing
"Limited Agent requests"; number and reset not stated.Access to Composer. Cursor lists "MCPs, skills, and hooks" as part of its paid Individual plan, so MCP use on Hobby is not confirmed.No
Studio MCP server with Codex (ChatGPT Free)
Source: Codex pricing, chatgpt.com/pricing
ChatGPT Free lists "Limited Codex access"; number and reset not stated.GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the Codex desktop app, subject to rollout. The Codex CLI, the OpenAI client on Roblox's quick connect list, is listed from Plus. MCP on the free desktop app is not stated.Not stated

Third-party tools

Listed alphabetically. RoCode is the tool that publishes this page.

Third-party Roblox AI tools and what each says about free use
Tool and sourceFree allowance and resetWhat the free tier coversCard needed
Forge (forgeblox.app)
Source: forgeblox.app, terms
Trial credits once, when you first pair the Forge Bridge. Amount not stated. One grant per Roblox account, which may need to be at least 30 days old.Which models the trial credits cover is not stated. Needs a Windows PC with Studio and the Forge Bridge.No
JellyBuild
Source: jellybuild.com/pricing
10 credits a day, reset every 24 hours. Unused daily credits do not stack.Script and system generation (5 to 15 credits each), refine or fix (1 credit), free chat and Roblox Q&A, a Studio plugin, project history and 1 auto-repair pass. Builder Mode maps are paid only. JellyBuild says credits are spent only on successful generations. Model not stated.No
Lemonade (lemonade.gg)
Source: lemonade.gg terms
Not public: the pricing page redirects to Sign in with Roblox.The Terms of Service say a paid subscription gives "increased prompt limits", which implies a lower free limit, but no number is published.Not stated
PromptBlox
Source: promptblox.ai/pricing, llms.txt
A small weekly allowance, amount not stated, reset on Mondays at 00:00 UTC. Free generation can pause when shared free capacity is full.Light builds only, chat edits, version history (50 versions) and .rbxlx export. A browser game builder, not a Studio plugin. Model not stated.Not stated
RoAI (roai.studio)
Source: roai.studio/pricing
0 credits a month, with no monthly refill.Chat, clarifying questions and plan previews are free on every plan. Builds need credits bought as top-ups; the homepage plan card says "No build access" for Free. Up to 3 connected games, Light effort builds only. Model not stated.Not stated
RoAssistant (roassistant.me)
Source: roassistant.me, DevForum post
Not open on 9 October 2026: the site said RoAssistant was undergoing changes and sign-in was switched off. The developer's DevForum post of 15 March 2026 said 650,000 tokens a day.Per the March 2026 post: a plugin plus a website that makes scripts, UI and models, inserts Toolbox models and edits existing instances, with no API key needed. The post says it works best with one system at a time and cannot build terrain. Model not stated.Not stated on the site; the March 2026 post says no
RoCode (rocode.app)
Source: rocode.app/pricing
3 credits a day, refilled at 00:00 UTC. Unused daily credits do not carry over.DeepSeek V4 Flash or GPT-OSS 120B, with all 24 Studio tools, through a Creator Store plugin in the place you have open. A few small tasks a day: a standard task on DeepSeek V4 Flash uses about 0.4 credits at current rates, and long tasks use more.No
Ropilot
Source: ropilot.ai/pricing
Two routes. Ropilot AI: starter credits once, during Ropilot Studio onboarding, amount not stated. Bring Your Own AI Free plan: 500 Ropilot Actions a month.Starter credits: the homepage says you can try GPT-6 Astra on them. Bring Your Own AI: actions are Studio steps such as edits and playtests, not prompts, and the AI comes from your own ChatGPT or Claude subscription. 1 concurrent instance.No
RoStudio (rostud.io)
Source: rostud.io
Daily use: its FAQ says the free plan lets you build "every day". Amount not stated, and the pricing page needs a sign-in. Plus is described as 20 times the usage of Free.Build with AI, sync to Studio and edit your game. The strongest models and planning mode are Plus only. In beta. Model not stated.No
SuperbulletAI
Source: superbullet.ai/pricing
1M tokens a month, with a 150K daily limit.Model on the free plan not stated. Codebase indexing is a Pro feature. A desktop app for Windows 10/11 or macOS 12+, not a plugin from the Creator Store. The pricing page is labelled Early Access.Not stated

No free tier: Picoo and NexusRBX both say on their own pricing pages that they have no free tier or free trial. Not in the table: ForgeGUI, whose free plan gives 10,000 credits a month for image generations, makes GUI, thumbnail and 3D assets rather than Luau; Codeblox could not be checked because its site returned a connection error on 9 October 2026.

Four kinds of "free"

  • A free plan that resets. A fresh allowance every day, week or month: RoCode and JellyBuild daily, PromptBlox weekly, SuperbulletAI and Ropilot's Bring Your Own AI plan monthly.
  • Trial credits, once. A one-off grant that does not come back: Ropilot AI's starter credits and Forge's trial credits.
  • A free tool with your own AI. The tool costs nothing, but the model runs on an account with its own terms and limits: Ropilot's Bring Your Own AI plan, Assistant with your own API key, and the Studio MCP server with any client.
  • Free to chat, paid to build. Questions and plans cost nothing; changes need credits. RoAI's free plan works this way, and JellyBuild also charges nothing for chat.

How to make a free tier last longer

These habits work on any tool. Each one cuts the number of requests a change takes, or the size of each request.

  • Ask for one change at a time. "Add a Coins stat to leaderstats and give 10 coins when a player touches the part named CoinPad" is one request. "Make my game better" is many, and the result is harder to check. Name the exact object and where it is, and say what must not change.
  • Ask or plan before you build, where the tool has it. In Assistant, choose Plan from the drop-down in the input panel, or type /plan; nothing runs until you click Build. RoCode's Ask mode answers questions about your place with read-only tools and changes nothing, so you can check what it understood before a Build run. Separately, RoAI and JellyBuild say chat costs nothing on their free plans. A misunderstanding caught before a build is one you do not have to undo.
  • Paste less. Paste the function and the error line, not the whole script. A shorter request is quicker to check and gives the AI less to misread. Tools that work inside Studio can read a script by name, so you do not need to paste it at all.
  • Start a new chat for each task. Roblox notes that each Assistant chat has its own context window, so a long conversation in one chat does not use up space in another. The same habit keeps any tool focused on the task in front of it.
  • Reuse code that already works. Ask the AI to extend a script you have rather than write a new one, and keep systems you trust in ModuleScripts so your next game starts with them. The leaderboard, data saving and RemoteEvent guides give you complete scripts to start from at no cost.
  • Save a version before every AI session. File > Save to Roblox with Notes (Ctrl+Alt+S, or Cmd+Option+S on Mac) creates a named checkpoint. If a result is wrong, restore it instead of spending more requests on repairs: Window > Version History, click ⋮ next to the version, choose Open Local Copy, then use File > Save to Roblox As in the copy to overwrite the place.
  • Fix small errors yourself. The Output window shows which script and line an error came from, and many errors are a typo or a missing object you can fix in a minute. The script errors guide covers the common ones.
  • Know when it resets. RoCode refills at 00:00 UTC, JellyBuild every 24 hours, PromptBlox on Mondays at 00:00 UTC, and each of Assistant's procedural model requests stops counting 24 hours after you made it. Daily credits on RoCode and JellyBuild do not carry over, so splitting a big job across several days lets you use more of them than one long session would.

What "free" usually leaves out

The free tiers above share a pattern. These are the things most often kept for paying users, with examples from the tables.

Commonly paid-only features, with examples checked 9 October 2026
Often paid onlyExamples
Stronger modelsClaude's Free plan has Sonnet and Haiku but not Opus. RoStudio keeps its strongest models for Plus. RoCode's other models start at Pro, with GLM 5.3 and Claude Sonnet 5.5.
Bigger buildsRoAI and PromptBlox offer Light builds only on Free. JellyBuild's Builder Mode maps need a paid plan.
Queue priorityRoCode and RoAI give paid users a priority queue, and JellyBuild lists priority over free users on its paid plans.
ImagesRoAI's Free plan leaves out image uploads, RoCode's image attachments need a paid model, and Codex image generation is not on ChatGPT Free.
Carry-overDaily credits on RoCode and JellyBuild do not carry over. SuperbulletAI rolls unused tokens over on Pro, not on Free.
Whole-project featuresSuperbulletAI's codebase indexing and RoStudio's planning mode are paid features.
The AI itselfRopilot's Bring Your Own AI plan needs your own ChatGPT or Claude subscription. Assistant with your own key runs on your account with Anthropic, OpenAI or Google.
A guaranteed slotPromptBlox says free generation can pause when shared free capacity is full, even with allowance left.

Read the conditions on trial credits too. Forge grants them once per Roblox account and may require the account to be at least 30 days old, and Ropilot gives its starter credits during onboarding.

Free options that cost nothing at all

Roblox Assistant, within its documented limits

Assistant comes with Roblox Studio, which Roblox describes as a free application for Windows and Mac. Click Assistant on the right side of the mezzanine bar at the top of Studio and type a request. It can answer questions, explain code, create and edit scripts and objects, insert Creator Store assets, and generate materials, meshes and procedural models.

Roblox's documentation states no price for it and no message cap. The documented limits are 50 procedural models in a rolling 24-hour window, and a daily cap on Code Assist suggestions in the Script Editor, with no number given. If Studio tells you that you have hit a limit, go by what the message says. The Assistant limits guide covers what to do next.

One option inside Assistant can cost money: under … > Manage API Keys, Assistant can use your own Anthropic, OpenAI or Google Gemini API key. That key runs on your account with the provider, under the provider's own pricing.

The Studio MCP server, with a free client

The Studio MCP server is built into Studio, and Roblox lists no price for it. Turn it on in Assistant with … > Manage MCP Servers > Enable Studio as MCP server, then connect a client. The cost question belongs to the client: the server needs an AI on the other end to do anything.

On 9 October 2026 we could not find a free client plan that is documented to work with it. Claude Code is not on Claude's Free plan. Claude Desktop is on Roblox's quick connect list, and Claude's Free plan includes desktop extensions, which Anthropic describes as a way to install local MCP servers, but neither company documents the Studio connection on Free. Cursor lists MCP support on a paid plan, and OpenAI lists the Codex CLI from Plus. We did not check Gemini CLI, Antigravity or Visual Studio Code extensions for this page.

If you try a free plan anyway, start with a request that only reads, such as asking the client to list what is in Workspace. The Studio MCP guide has the full setup, and Roblox's advice is to connect only clients you trust, because they can read and change your open places.

Writing it yourself

Writing Luau by hand is the one route with no allowance at all. Studio is free, Roblox's documentation is free, and the coding guides on this site have complete scripts you can read line by line, with no account needed. Good places to start:

Even if you use AI, knowing where code runs and how the client and server talk makes it easier to spot when a generated script is wrong.

RoCode's free plan

RoCode (RoCode.app) publishes this page, so here is its free plan stated plainly. RoCode is an AI agent for Roblox Studio: you describe a change in a web chat at rocode.app, and a free plugin from the Creator Store carries it out in the place you have open. It reads the place, writes the Luau, creates or edits scripts and instances, and checks its scripts. You pair the chat and the plugin once with the 8-character code shown in the plugin panel.

Starter is free with no card: 3 credits a day, refilled at 00:00 UTC, on DeepSeek V4 Flash or GPT-OSS 120B, with all 24 Studio tools. At current rates a standard task on DeepSeek V4 Flash uses about 0.4 credits, so that is a few small tasks a day; long tasks use more. Starter does not include the paid models, your own OpenRouter key, credit packs or the priority queue. RoCode works in Studio's edit mode only: it does not start playtests, generate meshes or sculpt terrain. Paid plans start at $9.99 a month before tax; the pricing page lists them all.

You type

Why does the CoinGiver script give me coins twice when I touch the part?

RoCode does
  • With the mode set to Ask, uses only its reading tools, for example Read Script on CoinGiver and Check Output for the Server and Client lines from your last playtest
  • Changes nothing in your place: any other tool is refused and never sent to Studio
  • If something needs fixing, says what it would change and where, and suggests switching to Build

Ask still needs Studio connected, because it reads your place. How the plugin and pairing work. RoCode is an independent product, not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by Roblox Corporation. Roblox and Roblox Studio are trademarks of Roblox Corporation.

Questions about free Roblox AI

Is there a free AI for Roblox Studio?

Yes. Assistant is built into Roblox Studio and its documentation lists no price, with a documented cap of 50 procedural models per rolling 24 hours. Third-party tools with a free plan that resets include RoCode (3 credits a day), JellyBuild (10 credits a day) and SuperbulletAI (1M tokens a month, with a 150K daily limit), as each stated on 9 October 2026.

Is Roblox Assistant free?

Roblox's documentation states no price for Assistant, and Roblox describes Studio as a free application. It is not unlimited: the docs cap procedural models at 50 per rolling 24 hours, and Code Assist in the Script Editor has a daily cap they give no number for. If you add your own Anthropic, OpenAI or Google Gemini API key, that provider's terms apply to what you use.

How do I open the AI in Roblox Studio?

Click Assistant on the right side of the mezzanine bar at the top of Studio, then type a request. Code Assist works inside the Script Editor and suggests code as you type. To let an outside AI client work in Studio, open Assistant, click … > Manage MCP Servers and turn on Enable Studio as MCP server.

What is the best free AI for Roblox scripting?

It depends on the job, and this page does not rank tools. For questions and explanations with nothing to install, Assistant is already in Studio. For an allowance that refills every day, JellyBuild and RoCode have one. For a monthly allowance, SuperbulletAI gives 1M tokens. If you already pay for ChatGPT or Claude, Ropilot's Bring Your Own AI plan is free on Ropilot's side. Check each tool's own page, because free tiers change.

Can I use ChatGPT or Claude for free in Roblox Studio?

You can paste code from a free ChatGPT or Claude chat into a Script, but the chat cannot see your place. Connecting them to Studio is less clear on free plans: Claude Code needs a paid Claude plan, OpenAI lists the Codex CLI from Plus, and although Claude's Free plan includes desktop extensions for local MCP servers, neither Anthropic nor Roblox documents the Studio connection on Free.

Do free Roblox AI tools need a credit card?

Many do not. RoCode, JellyBuild, Ropilot, Forge (for its trial), RoStudio and Cursor Hobby say no card is needed, and Claude's pricing table lists no payment method for its Free plan. SuperbulletAI, RoAI, Lemonade, PromptBlox and Codex Free do not say either way on their public pages, and Roblox's Assistant docs state no price.

Can AI make a whole Roblox game for free?

Some tools let you start one free. PromptBlox builds games in the browser on its free Light builds, within a small weekly allowance. The other free tiers here work in smaller daily or monthly allowances. Whatever the tool, a finished, balanced game takes your own design, playtesting and many rounds of changes.

Sources and further reading

Try RoCode on its free plan.

3 credits a day, refilled at 00:00 UTC, no card. Install the plugin, describe one change, and review what lands in Studio.